Project 365 Week 15 & 16

So I am a little out of order, I am missing some photos from the previous two weeks – they are on my actual camera rather than my phone so I need to find that before I can write up. Plus I am a whole month behind! Not only my own post writing, but also visiting everyone else involved in this project. I’m having a computer afternoon and evening today so I will not only catch up on writing but also visiting! In order to catch up lets go straight into photos!

Week 15

Day 99 – We were out gardening and suddenly saw that Max had gotten himself up on the upper window! This is really high, we have floor to ceiling windows. Later on this week he walked all the way to the end and got himself stuck which meant I had to stand on a chair and coach him to jump into my arms! Daft thing.

Day 100 – Marie cat being her usual pretty self.

Day 101 – My backpacking tent arrived from REI….I cannot wait for August when I use this with two hiking ladies 😀 hoping to use it before then but depends if we can all find dates to work! Of course I had to set up indoors.

Day 102 – Pansy! We planted this over a year a go to see how quickly they would grow in glass jars as possible table favours at our wedding. Pleased we didn’t just hope as it’s only just bloomed!

Day 103 – I love to see this view when I pull up after work. They are the talk of our section of the complex, seems they spend most of their days staring out the bedroom window!

Day 104 – Pub. Silly, uppity, snobby pub food. This is Mac & Cheese, granted it tasted really good and it was happy hour, but we then left the pub and went to the club house on our complex for “dinner” because I was starving! I would pay more money to have a decent sized plate of food which fills me up, rather than $6 for 5 mouthfuls of food!! *rant is over*

Day 105 – The weather has turned really nice, so we went for a wander around our complex. We have a couple of lakes where we live, this is the main lake which has two swans (plus fish/ducks/geese etc). This sign is well needed – that swan swam really fast towards where we were walking along the path, we moved pretty sharpish up the slope and away from the lake! Once on the other side of the lake we went back to the lower path, and this swan made a beeline for us again! We think they either have mated and there is a nest nearby, or they are trying to mate but…..we were also told they are gay and actually two males. So maybe they are just grumpy!

Week 16

Day 106 – Tulip Town – read more here – there is a town which has tulips! It was a beautiful day, the sun was out and the drive was ok! We live 60 miles from Tulip Town in Skagit, and this place is only 70 miles away from the Canadian border. Later on this year we will be visiting Canada 😀

Day 107 – Instead of sitting on top of the bookcase where there is a lot of space, I found Max in the cubby hole, squashed and surrounded by our piano music. Daft!

Day 108 – Last winter I planted our spring bulbs, and now my tulips are nearly out! I was really pleased with the crocus, then the daffs and now with the tulips! 😀 I have my fingers crossed for all my summer bulbs which are finally planted!

Day 109 – Yup the sun is here – not due to stay – and the cats are loving it! Sometimes I feel we should let them out, but they are not top of the food chain here. Too many lost cat posters up, there are multiple things which eat cats in this area.

Day 110 – Blossom. Outside my other real life job, there is this beautiful big blossom tree. Makes me smile, and I love seeing the children’s faces when they walk or are carried underneath it.

Day 111 – Friday night drinkies out in Kirkland. We found a voucher for Anthony’s Homeport which we were given for joining the dental practice we go to, so we decided as it was such a beautiful evening to catch the bus — yes we have public transport, it is limited and not reliable but there is a bus — wander the marina, and eat out. They do seasonal cocktails and it is rhubarb season in Puyallup so Anthony’s had a Rhubarb Drop cocktail. Vodka I think!

Day 112 – Saturday morning wander for coffee and a doughnut and these big pink blooms looked too inviting to not photograph. It was either this or a photo of my bookcase which I reordered!

 

I have had a busy, challenging 4 weeks. I have a last minute flight booked back to the UK leaving this coming Monday for my Grandad’s funeral. He went into hospital in March and sadly passed on the 5th April, hence why I am so far behind my posts. Me and Hubster spent a long time trying to decide whether we could afford for me to go back and see him whilst in the hospice, or wait a little as he had been given months. Unfortunately it was weeks instead and the decision was made for me! This has been the most challenging aspect of living so far away from my family. I’ve been sad to miss friends weddings, and jealous of all the snuggles friends have with newborn babies in my friendships, but not being there to say goodbye to a family member before they die has been heart-breaking. The emotions I’ve gone through have been a roller-coaster : from grief, to guilt, to envy and jealously and back to grief. But it is hard to grieve when you are so far away from those who know and remember that person.

I hope everyone else has had a great month, and I look forward to reading and seeing what everyone is up to. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Project 365 Week 15 & 16

  1. What a horrible downside to living somewhere so beautiful.
    Never thought of cats as being part of a food chain, cars are the biggest risk to them here. The hike sound exciting, the tent looks rather long and narrow, but all it needs to be is big enough to sleep in I guess.
    Chuckle at gay swans, we have a “couple”here where one is a swan and one a goose, they have starred on the local news before now, been together for years so they have.

    Like

  2. That is a beautiful photo of Marie. I never knew swans could be gay! I always dislike small portions of food in pubs and restaurants. I’m a vegetarian and vegetarian portions are always way smaller than meat eaters’ portions! Grrr! I love the photo of Tulip Town.
    So sorry to read about your Grandad. That must be so hard not to have been able to say goodbye.

    Like

  3. So sorry to read about your Granddad. I hope this trip back to the UK brings some closure and time with your family.
    The swans do look so graceful but I know from past experience that they can move really quickly – although the idea of a pair of gay swans made me smile!
    Your tent looks like a rather strange shape, but I hope you have fun camping with it!
    #Project365

    Like

  4. cats are entertaining aren’t they, love the one where the cat is hiding behind the folder, mine makes me jump every time i open cupboards that she’s hiding in, those tulip fields are gorgeous and living in Dubai I know what you mean about paying more for fancy food and still being hungry

    Like

Leave a Reply

