Rattlesnake Ledge 15/01/2017

Brrr…not as cold as Franklin Falls, but it was still quite chilly! We went up with a friend of mine who doesn’t get to hike with others very often. The recent trip reports on WTA mentioned that microspikes would be needed and I am so pleased we took ours. At times it was very very icy and we saw too many people going up in bog standard trainers. Yes I am judging. It winds me up! Rattlensnake Ledge is one of the easier hikes, and therefore very popular at weekends, however people need to take responsibility for themselves.

Unfortunately I should probably put ourselves in this category too. My friend lost one of her microspikes on the way up, so Hubster kindly gave her his to wear as he was in hiking boots and had poles, we thought this would be enough. In hindsight, we should have just turned back.

It was a lovely hike to the top, Rattlesnake is definitely a easier hike than I’ve been doing so it was really nice for me to take it easy. The sky was clear blue for the entire morning. I only had my iPhone to take photos on today, so I have very few. The path was easy to manage, there was a mixture of snow coverage, dirt, and ice. Spring is on the way for sure. 🙂  Enjoy the few photos I took!

At the top, Hubster went for his water and discovered that it had leaked in his bag and over his camera — sadness number 1.

On our way back down, Hubster slipped on the ice and fell off the side of the path ripping his jacket and bruising himself but thankfully nothing more than bruises. He slipped and fell a few more times on our way back down to the car — sadness number 2.  We spoke to a lot of people going up in trainers, wooly boots and other stupid footwear combinations, told them it only got more icy on the way up and that they really need microspikes. Everyone ignored us. I hope no one else fell of the trail into bush and injured themselves.

On our way back on the freeway, a stone pinged onto the windscreen and cracked it — sadness number 3.

3 thoughts on “Rattlesnake Ledge 15/01/2017

  1. the views are stunning, but you’re right it’s not worth the risks if not properly prepared for the trip, it irritates me when people need costly rescues often involving air ambulance and putting rescuers at risk, all for the sake of the proper equipment. Sorry to hear about your camera, ripped jacket and windscreen, an expensive day out

    Like

    1. It was indeed, especially as it is winter so we had to buy a replacement coat for Hubster. Luckily the chipped windscreen fix is included in our vehicle insurance and they come to where ever you are so Hubster took the car to work and they fixed it during the working day! I am always over prepared when I hike, my bag is probably too big for a “little” hike, but I know I could keep someone warm and safe if needed… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

