Licorice Fern Trail 03/05/16

An afternoon hike for me and Hubster today. I saw this hike posted on the Ladies Group but on a day when I would be unable to join them, but it looked like a nice one so I nabbed it!

Licorice Fern Trail is about 4.5 miles long, with not a huge elevation so was perfect for filling some time in the afternoon. It was not too far to drive to which was nice as well. It still has not sunk in just what amazing outdoor activities we have less than 1 hours drive from us.

I drove us down today *shock* I actually offer to drive places now, I’m even slightly worried about driving my mums little Fiat 500 when I arrive back NEXT MONTH! NEXT MONTH!!!

The parking lot, is actually road parking. Easy to get to though, and there is a clear sign of where to begin the hike.  We followed the path along and lowered down towards a small stream/creek on the left hand side and soon the path headed upwards so the water became below us. You could tell that we have been having wind storms lately, there were a lot of tree branches on the path and to the side of it. This was such a quiet trail – we saw 3 pairs of people on the first section.

We continued following the path until we came across Licorice Way, this is a road! You cross the road, walk a little to the left and rejoin the trail.

IMG_1707

We came across a couple of families and another pair, but apart from that noone else. It was very peaceful. There was only one section of the trail which was tricky and that was simply because a tree had fallen across which we needed to climb over. Other than that, it was a clear and easy hike.

It was recommended to me to look at Geo-cache’s so I’ve installed this onto my phone, only the free version so far, and there was one along this route. Very pleased to have found it! It took a while – this was a kiddies cache, so a little embarrassing – and had a peek inside. So cute! I didn’t have anything to leave behind so I didn’t take anything. Roll on the next one to look for 😀

Once we reached the end of the Licorice Fern Trail, we turned left and followed the Indian Trail up to the Far Country Lookout, before heading back the way we came.

We tried to find Far Country Falls, but managed to miss the turning somewhere, and ended up by a few houses and the end of the trail! We turned back and went back the way we had come, along the trail, across the road, back on trail all the way to the car. The only thing I really needed was a bathroom!

Leave a Reply

