The Talus Loop 02/20/16

A small afternoon hike with Sausage and Igloo as well as Hubster. I choose this one! I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was and will do this one again, I reckon it would be suitable for a trail run during the week. I would feel confident doing this hike alone.

Talus Loop Trail is found off of the Mount Si Trail so the starting point was the same, it then was clearly signposted….Clear sign post

So we could not go wrong! Being a shorter hike I opted for leggings, boots and waterproof coat, but I was quick to heat up except still kept my gloves on as my hands become cold extremely quickly at the moment. Usually I would be in waterproof trousers too. SPRING IS COMING!

It was a 5.2 mile round trip, at an easy elevation. Before the turn off the main trail was quite busy, this appears to be a tourist trap and although I am all for getting outdoors and experiencing it I did become slightly annoyed at the number of people who were rude on the trail. You “should” yield to the upwards hiker, often it is nice to have a break going upwards so I’ve witnessed a lot of yielding the other way round, but today the number of people who just walked and brushed past without a care in the world began to grate on me. Just wait guys and gals!

The path at times was muddy with puddles, but the rain stayed away throughout which was refreshing to say to the least 🙂

Once we were on the Talus Loop I was much happier. We only encountered one group of 4 on our way round, and a pair when we stopped to admire the view.

There were a couple of switchbacks until we reached the view point, which was breath-taking so we had a little break and spoke about phallic objects in bathrooms – Sausage and Igloo have seen some funky bathroom hangers! Much laughter whilst we decided on what we could create and sell.

We were sat on some rocks overlooking Truck Town which is part of Snoqualmie Valley. I’m sure that with some time I’ll learn which mountains are which over the next year, but we had a nice view of many of them. When the weather clears up we will be going again because the view is that spectacular!

We headed down, following the loop round and came across an upturned tree near to a smaller stream and little tiny waterfalls. (Well they aren’t waterfalls just flowing water, but it makes it sound nicer!)

We joined back onto the main Mount Si trail, again with a really useful sign post and headed back down to the parking lot.

One final photo from the Hubster and his iPhone ::

IMG_1523

 

 

One thought on “The Talus Loop 02/20/16

Leave a Reply

