On the road to running….

We I joined a running club – Eastside Runners – to get fit and to make friends. One of things I’m struggling with most is having the confidence to get out there and make friends. Hubster came with me on the first meet, back on October 8th, and since then I’ve been to a Monday night after yoga, other Thursday’s and most Saturday mornings.

First post-run selfie!
First post-run selfie!

Then I thought what better motivation to keep it up as we move further into Fall and Winter than to have runs/dashes/races to aim for. Differing distances through to a 10 mile in Bridle Trails in the new year. Why this aim? Bridle Trails is the community area we live, and our local trail park.

So after getting my distance up and running a slow 5km on a Saturday morning around Kirkland Marina, I booked myself onto the 5km Purple Heart Dash.Β This was held on Washington University premises and monies went towards charity to help and support veterans, on November 1st 2015.

It was not as busy as I thought, but I was pleased I managed to complete it. Hubster waited with me at the start and then wandered off to get a hot chocolate for me to have at the end. It was chilly, wet and overcast but I really enjoyed it.

Hubster managed to capture me at the start, but I can not work out how to put a video in here!!

I completed it with a time of 31 minutes and 54 seconds, coming 87th overall and 29th female overall, plus 20th female in my age group. Thrilled with this time!

Finished with a hot choc!
Finished with a hot choc!

Recorded finish by Hubster will be uploaded as soon as I can! I am proud to have run all the way to the end πŸ™‚

Huge thanks to Hubster for driving me there and back, hanging around in the cold for me, and finding hot chocolate! Xxx

P.S: I am totally in love with Lucy Active Wear. I discovered them in June when I visited and bought a running skirt which I used cycling, and now I have a steadily growing sports wardrobe of their things! I wore their Endurance Run Tight and a short sleeved t-shirt in teal. Also wore a RAB merino wool base layer, and my Salamon Trail shoes.

Leave a Reply

